Why I Write by Mike Tetzlaff

Hello, Macc Writers returns today at 2pm in Macclesfield Library with a visit from author Michelle Green.

Below a member of our group tells us why he writes:

Why do I write?

Mike Tetzlaff

I write because I want to tell stories. So I suppose the next question is why do I want to do that? And the reason is simple; I love stories. So actually it’s not a reason at all, it is in fact an irrational desire.

I simply love stories. But love is more than a feeling; there’s got to be a decision to love even when the going gets tough. And of course commitment can be tough – and writing can take a lot of commitment. But the reward is worth it when stories reach as far as imagination allows and plumb the truths of humanity.

There is a kind of therapy in telling stories. A reshaping of past events, relationships, hopes and dreams perhaps unrealised. Embellished with the unknown, peril, conflict, monsters and then you have the perfect recipe, in my book, for an entertaining story. If it entertains, grips, then for me that is a story worth telling, and stories are meant to be told.

Leave a Reply

